Nominal Rolls

Discussion in 'World War 2' started by ColinS, Jun 23, 2010.

1. ColinS

ColinS New Member

I am trying to find out about 3 brothers who served in WW2. I have found them in the Nominal Rolls but am having trouble understanding some terms. Can someone help please?
    1) Percy Roy Denman, Posting on discharge given as 101 CON. I have no idea what this term means.
    2) Ronald James Denman, Posting on discharge given as 2/13 Australian Company AA Regimental Workshops. Can anyone tell me what regiment etc this is please.
    3) Emmanuel William Victor Denman, Posting on discharge given as 5 Division Provost Company, however, in his 2 page record it shows him as enlisting in No 1 Garr Coy (presumably Garrison Company) RAMC Royal Army Medical Corps.
    Any help would be most appreciated. I am new to the Australian military records.

2. Kitty

Kitty New Member

I am afraid you will need to wait for the Oz members to come online for this. The only thing i can think of for AA is Anti Aircraft but i can't see that being the case in this instance. You are correct in Garrison Company so Emmanuel obviously decided to stay in the forces after the War and joined the mediclal corps, probably as a pen pusher for them. CON is a new one on me though. spidge?

3. spidge

spidge Active Member

101 CON version unit?

AA Regimental Workshops of the 2/13th Battalion?

4. ColinS

ColinS New Member

Hi Spidge,
    Many thanks for that, but I am still in the dark.
    To which Corps or regiment was 101 Conversion Unit attached?
    Regarding AA, was that an anti-Aircraft section of 2/13. I thought that all AA units would have been attached to the Artillery Regiment?
    Colin

5. Cobber

Cobber New Member

Quote{Ronald James Denman, Posting on discharge given as 2/13 Australian Company AA Regimental Workshops. Can anyone tell me what regiment etc this is please.}End Quote