Seeking background information of 242 Squadron Adjutant

Discussion in 'World War 2' started by floyd, Sep 8, 2010.

1. floyd

floyd New Member

Captain, later S/L, Peter Drummond MacDonald was a Canadian veteran of WWI(Captain).He was later a member of the British Parliament.
    Shortly after war was declared, MacDonald was given the rank of P/O and appointed Adjutant of 242 Squadron. He and the largely Canadian squadron were in the Battle of France and the Battle of Britain. I have some of his Cape Breton background but none from his early days in the army(CEF) nor of his university days(Cambridge/Law). Was he a good MP?(Conservative)

I'm interested in any information, even if by chance I already have it. Thanks. (Floyd Williston)footless@mts.net
    A new boy to this forum from eastern Canada.

2. sniper

sniper Active Member

Welcome to the forum Floyd.

Have you tried putting Sir Peter Drummond MacDonald's name into a search engine? A lot of his speeches that he made while an MP for the Isle of Wright are recorded on an external link on Wikipedia. On the National Portrait Gallery website there is a picture of him. Lots on there as well about 242 Squadron which was Douglas Bader's first command. Do you have the Squadron number he was part of during WW1?

Sniper

3. floyd

floyd New Member

Thanks Sniper. Yes, I probably have more than most researchers have on 242 Squadron. However, because MacDonald wasn't a pilot, he gets very little mention in the squadron's Operations Record Book(ORB).